寺院历史

帕久嵿寺是在十三世纪由帕久竹贡西博(1184–1251年)所建立,这位西藏喇嘛把天龍(竹巴西藏)密宗传承传入不丹,而被称为慈悲菩萨。帕久嵿寺是不丹最神圣的灵修圣地之一。

对不丹人来说,开山祖帕久以及帕久嵿寺在不丹民俗文化和民族记忆中占有着深刻的宗教意义。因此保存和维护这寺院和它的佛教传统是非常重要的。

帕久出生于西藏东部的康巴省。在他出生时,有许多吉祥的预兆。他七岁时入寺学佛,十二岁时被宁玛派的著名大师TharpaLingpa收做徒弟,接收所有宁玛派传承法。过后,帕久听到竹巴派开山祖藏巴嘉日正在开示,很想去见他。正当帕久途中要去见时,藏巴嘉日却圆寂了。可是在藏巴嘉日没圆寂之前,他有一个愿景预观到会有一个来自康巴的人会把竹巴派传承在南部地区(现在的不丹国)发扬光大。

帕久四十岁时来到不丹国,在此居住了二十八年,至到他在首都延布附近的探戈阉圆寂。他的到来对那时现有的国王造成威胁,帕久采用了不同佛法来解决纠纷后,成功成为不丹西部的国王。

一次帕久在虎穴寺闭关时,莲花生大师呈现在他眼前,吩咐他要建四座堡垒、四个佛阉、和四间悬崖嵿部的禅修寺,一共建十二间。在他一生中,帕久完成莲花生大师的嘱咐。现在接近廷布的探戈寺,帕久嵿寺上方的禅修地ThujiLhakhang,被认为在这十二圣地当中最具佛教精神意义的圣地。

禅修地,帕久就在此附近悬崖闭关,如今这悬崖圣水还流着

帕久曾在这ThujiLhakhang禅修地,进行一个月的闭关,闭关结束前,观世音呈现在他眼前。为了要确定他是否能否在不丹全国弘扬佛法,据说他把拐杖插入崖面,祈祷如果他能成功弘法,水就从这悬崖流出来。这水果然流出,至今这圣水还在流着,它在不丹很出名,能治好有言语障碍的人。

帕久嵿寺大部分的建筑,是在1748年由GyelwaShakyaRinchen(1710 -1759年)所建。他是第九世纪堪布 Je Khenpo,被认为是米拉日巴心子Rechungpa的化身。

History of the monastery

The Phajoding monastery site was founded in the 13 th  Century by Phajo Drugom Zhigpo (1184-1251), the Tibetan lama who spread the Drukpa Kagyu teachings of Buddhism in Bhutan and known as the ‘current of compassion’. It is one of the most sacred meditational sites in Bhutan.

Pha-jo and the Phajoding site are steeped in profound religious significance that resonates strongly with the Bhutanese people in their popular folklore culture and memories. The significance of the preservation of this site and its Buddhist traditions is inestimable.

Pha-jo was born in Eastern Tibet in the province of Kham. His birth was surrounded by the characteristic signs following the birth of a highly advanced being. At the age of seven he commenced his monastic studies and at age twelve he was sent to the renowned Nyingmapa master Thar-pa-ling-pa where he received the full set of Nying-ma teachings. Soon afterwards he heard of the teachings of the Druk-pa founder Tsang-pa-gary whom he felt drawn to meet. On his journey to meet him, Tsang-pa-gary passed away however prior to his passing he had a vision that a man from Kham would arrive and spread the teachings of the Druk-pas (which was based on the Mahamudra and the Six Yogas of Naropa) in the “Southern Lands” which is present day Bhutan.

At age forty, Pha-jo arrived in Bhutan where he stayed for twenty-eight years until his death at Tango hermitage, which is now an imposing Dzong near the capital city of Thimphu. His arrival was seen as a threat to the hegemony of the ruling party and conflict ensued with Pha-jo employing magical devices and techniques to settle the dispute in his favour to become the ruler of the Western part of Bhutan.

Pha-jo, during a meditation at Taksang (Tigers Nest Monastery in Paro) had a vision where he was told by Guru Rinpoche that he should establish four fortresses (dzongs), four hermitages (phug) and four cliff top meditation sites (drag), which he achieved during his lifetime. Along side Tango Monastery near Thimphu, the meditation site known as Thugs-je-drag (Thuji Lhakhang) above the present day Phajoding Monastery is considered to bare the most spiritual significance for Buddhists out of the twelve sacred sites that he established.

Thuji Lhakang near the cliff where Phajo meditated and where the drub chu still flows

It was at this site where Phajo underwent a one month meditation and at the end of this meditation he had a vision of Chenrezig; the Buddha of compassion. In order to ascertain whether his teachings would spread across the whole of Bhutan it is said that he placed his walking stick into the cliff face where he meditated and if his teachings were to spread, water would emerge from the rock face, which it subsequently did. This sacred water known as ‘drub chu’ is still flowing from the cliff face and is famous throughout the whole of Bhutan for curing people with speech impediments.

Most of the buildings at Phajoding however were constructed in 1748 by Gyelwa Shakya Rinchen (1710-1759), the 9 th Je Khenpo (rje mkhan po) who is considered to be the reincarnation of Rechungpa, the heart disciple of Milarepa. His reincarnation is currently studying at the Nalanda Buddhist Institute in Punakha in central Bhutan.